Strawberry and blueberry walnut salad

I ran out of calories last night after enjoying pizza for lunch. And garlic bread.

I wanted to eat something that was both filling and low in calories. I also wanted to avoid the oven since it was still 95 degrees outside at 6pm. So, a lite salad is what I ended up with. It was delicious. It was also pretty sweet, so if you don’t like that sort of thing, I suggest you skip it.

photo-(39)

Ingredients:

  • Greens of your choice. I used a 50/50 mix of spinach and spring greens.
  • 1 cup strawberries, quartered
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • Handful of walnuts, chopped (aprox 1/8 cup)
  • Homemade strawberry poppyseed dressing (recipe to follow)

I meant to add red onion, but I forgot about it as soon as I thought of it. It would have been a nice addition. Also, grilled chicken would work wonderfully. If you like feta cheese, I bet that would be good, too. I think feta is gross though, so my salad is conspicuously void of cheese.

I made the salad dressing based on a recipe I found on another website. That recipe is for Raspberry Poppyseed Dressing, but I modified it a few ways. If I was eating this alone, I would have swapped out the strawberries for raspberries and done the raspberry dressing. For some reason, my husband doesn’t like raspberries so I went with strawberry.

Here’s my version of the dressing:

Strawberry Poppyseed Dressing

Ingredients:

  • 6 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground mustard
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1 cup fresh* strawberries (or raspberries)
  • 6 oz strawberry (or raspberry) yogurt (I used Chobani greek yogurt)
  • 1 teaspoon poppy seeds

*could use frozen fruit instead, but thaw before adding

Directions:

Combine first 4 ingredients in blender. While blending, gradually add oil in a steady stream. Add strawberries and yogurt; cover and blend until smooth. Stir in poppy seeds. Serve immediately. Refrigerate leftovers. Yields aprox 2 cups.

Nutritional Info:

Serving Size: 2 TBS
Servings: 16
Amount per serving: Calories: 97, Total Fat: 6.9g, Sodium: 157mg, Carbohydrates: 8.2g (sugars: 8g, Fiber <1), Protein: 1g

One thought on “Strawberry and blueberry walnut salad

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Poppy seed Salad #DailyDish Featured Recipe - Daily Dish with Foodie Friends Friday~Daily Dish with Foodie Friends Friday

Leave a Reply

