My menu (January 20, 2014)

Some friends of mine have recently asked for healthy meal ideas, I assume as part of a new year’s resolution. I think it’s a constant struggle for those of us in charge of meal planning. It takes a lot of time to mindfully craft a weekly menu that is nutritious, works with a busy schedule, is kid friendly, and keeps within a budget. I don’t know that my menus tick off every single one of those boxes, but considering the time and energy I put into meal planning, I thought I would post them on my blog on the off chance it is helpful to other busy moms or dads.

I am listing the main dishes here for five meals. The other meals are either planned meals out, or reheating leftovers. My kids eat taste what I prepare. If I’m feeling kind, I will make a substitute version for them when I know they won’t like it. For example, they don’t like salmon, so I will make them fish sticks instead. I try to maintain a healthy balance between encouraging them to try new things, and being considerate of their palettes. I fail often.

But I digress.

This is what we’re eating this week:

Day 1: Taco chicken chili

Day 2: Salmon, green beans, salad

Day 3: Sloppy Joes, broccoli, apple slices

Day 4: Beef stew, homemade bread

Day 5: Chicken fajitas, side salad

Leave a Reply

